NYCOM Policy and Advisory Committees

NYCOM Policy Committees

In an effort to facilitate legislative advocacy and member engagement, NYCOM has established policy committees in four areas: Community Revitalization, Energy and Environment, Labor Relations, and Municipal Finance. These policy committees provide general guidance and policy recommendations to the NYCOM Executive Committee and staff, develop positions on various pieces of legislation, and consider new legislative proposals that will benefit cities and villages.

Government Operations and Community Development

Mayor Steven Noble, Kingston, Chair
Mayor Margaret Blackman, Brockport 
Mayor Mark Drnek, Oneonta
Mayor Waylyn Hobbs, Hempstead
Mayor Mary Marvin, Bronxville
Mayor Christopher Rosenquest, Plattsburgh
Mayor Brian Schenk, Naples
Mayor Scott Steve, Cortland
Karen D'Attore, Village Manager, Ossining

Environment, Energy and Technology

Mayor Scott Burto, West Carthage, Co-Chair
Mayor Tim Rogers, New Paltz, Co-Chair
Mayor Nicola Armacost, Hastings-on-Hudson
Mayor William Brazill, Minoa
Mayor Michael Dalton, Canton
Mayor Hal McCabe, Homer
Mayor Ronald McDougall, Gouverneur
Mayor Michael Newhard, Warwick
Mayor Thomas Roach, White Plains
Mayor Richard Straut, Voorheesville
Edward Brancati, Village Manager, Mt. Kisco
Sharianne Wilson-Pearce, Village Manager, Hilton

Employee Relations and Public Safety

Mayor William Aiello, Olean , Co-Chair
Mayor Paul Whorrall, Manlius, Co-Chair
Mayor Shaun Akin, Dannemora
Mayor Derek Baichi, Solvay
Mayor John Buckley, Hornell
Mayor Peter Scherer, Pleasantville
Mayor Bill Vineall, Sherrill
Mayor Rosanne Warner, Canastota
John Goodwin, City Manager, Canandaigua
Joshua Ringel, Village Manager, Briarcliff Manor


Mayor John Burrell, Ellicottville, Chair
Mayor Elliot Conway, Upper Brookville
Mayor Robert Gesualdo Cantelmo, Ithaca
Mayor Barbara Donno, Plandome Manor
Mayor RuthAnn Loveless, Hamilton
Mayor Chance Mullen, Pelham
Stuart Rabin, Village Manager, Port Chester
Mark Ryckman, City Manager, Corning
Marcus Serrano, Village Administrator, Buchanan

NYCOM Women's Advisory Committee

The goal of the Women’s Advisory Committee is to provide women in city and village office with a community and forum for sharing best practices. Additionally, the Women’s Advisory Committee makes recommendations to NYCOM’s Executive Committee and staff to assist in developing sessions and networking opportunities for NYCOM’s female constituency.

The Women’s Advisory Committee is comprised of elected and appointed officials from NYCOM member communities. In addition, each of the female mayors seated on the NYCOM Executive Committee will also serve as ex-officio members of the Women’s Advisory Committee. Meetings of the Women’s Advisory Committee are held virtually and in conjunction with NYCOM’s conferences.

Women's Advisory Members

Mayor Julie Domaratz, Village of Fairport Co-Chair
Sharianne Wilson-Pearce, Manager/Clerk, Village of Hilton Co-Chair
Mayor Nicola Armacost, Village of Hastings-on-Hudson
Mayor Margaret B. Blackman, Village of Brockport
Mayor Barbara Donno, Village of Plandome Manor
Mayor RuthAnn S. Loveless, Village of Hamilton
Mayor Shawyn Patterson-Howard, City of Mount Vernon
Mayor Alysa Plummer, Village of Pittsford
Mayor Amy Praught, City of Johnstown
Mayor Kathy M. Sheehan, City of Albany
Nancy Howard, Administrator, Village of Rockville Centre
Marianne C. Lobaccaro, Administrator/Clerk-Treasurer, Village of North Hills
Anne Janiak, Executive Director, Westchester Municipal Officials Association
Diana Smith, Business Development Director, MRB Group

NYCOM College Communities Advisory Committee

The goal of the College Communities Advisory Committee is to confront issues that uniquely impact cities and villages that have universities within their jurisdictional boundaries. College communities confront issues not unlike other municipalities however there are different circumstances as a result of the presence of a college or university within the boundaries of a
municipality. Housing, municipal-university relations, the provision of municipal services such as police and fire, and student integration and retention issues are among the many additional challenges that these unique communities face.

College Communities Members

Mayor Margaret B. Blackman, Village of Brockport
Mayor Jeffrey Gearhart, Village of Delhi
Mayor Waylyn Hobbs Jr., Village of Hempstead
Mayor RuthAnn Loveless, Village of Hamilton
Mayor Jared M. Kraham, City of Binghamton
Mayor Gary McCarthy, City of Schenectady
Mayor Tim Rogers, Village of New Paltz
Mayor Christopher C. Rosenquest, City of Plattsburgh
Mayor Rebecca Stanton-Terk, Village of Cobleskill